Use gallery and portfolios

Discussion in 'Wigwam' started by Erika, Jul 3, 2017.

1. Erika

Erika New Member

Hi,
    I just bought wigwam theme and I'm using the wordpress platform.
    I'm a beginner, so I don't understand how to manage images... It seems to be possible at different ways ! I see tabs gallery and portfolios but also "insert gallery" directly in a page or even turn the page on gallery template...

For I suppose the tabs gallery and portfolios are specific to the theme, I used it to create some, but how to insert them into my pages ?

Thanks and sorry for my stupid question ;)

2. maimairel

maimairel Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Erika,

Thanks for purchasing :)

To make it easy to understand, just say that the gallery and portfolio menus on the sidebar navigation of your admin are used to insert gallery and portfolio posts. Just like a blog post, with title, content but with additional features for images.

The insert gallery on a page is the native WordPress [gallery] shortcode and this is only for adding gallery images inside your posts.

If you want to have the gallery and portfolio like on the demo site, then the posts are what you need. You don't insert portfolio/galleries into pages, but you create portfolio/gallery pages.

The gallery template is for displaying galleries as seen under the Home menu on the demo site.

Thanks!

3. Erika

Erika New Member

Thanks for your answer, it's almost clear now !

I used the template image splash for the home page, by downloading my image in "image en avant" (sorry it's in french, it's juste below the template page menu on the right side) instead of download it in the post... but the problem is that doesn't work with the other templates, like gallery caroussel... don't understand where to put my images ?

Another thing is that I want to delete the bar "next article" down my portfolio pages, can I ? It seems not to apear in the demo site...